

European Union

Statement on the occasion of the IAEA Board of Governors Vienna, 28 September 2020 Agenda item 5: Any other Business

Madam Chair,

- 1. I have the honour to speak on behalf of the European Union. The following countries align themselves with this statement: [Turkey[§], the Republic of North Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Iceland*, Serbia*, Albania*, Bosnia and Herzegovina*, Liechtenstein*, Norway*, Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia and San Marino.]
- The European Union congratulates you on your election as Chair of the IAEA Board of Governors for the period of 2020-2021. We assure you of our full support. We also congratulate the Vice-Chairs of the Board on the assumption of their duties.

Madam Chair,

- 3. Through you, the EU would like to warmly thank the outgoing Chair, Her Excellency Ambassador Mikaela Kumlin Granit, Permanent Representative of Sweden, for her able leadership of the Board of Governors during the last period.
- 4. We commend Ambassador Granit and her team for the hard work and personal commitment in leading us so skilfully through this remarkable year, which was marked by the election of the new Director General and special circumstances surrounding the COVID pandemic. It was a pleasure to work with her and her team.

Thank you, Madam Chair.

[§] Candidate Country

^{*} Candidate Countries the Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania as well as potential Candidate Country Bosnia and Herzegovina continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

^{*} Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein are members of the EFTAa and of the European Economic Area.

