Effects of Changes to the Free Right to Employment and Residence Act


On May 1st, 2006, legislation came into effect allowing citizens of eight new European Union Member States – the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia – to enter the country in search of employment and enter into employment without applying for a special work permit. These citizens must apply for an European Economic Area (EEA) residence permit and employers hiring them must give notice to the Directorate of Labour.

Further information: